22-23 March, 2019

Clickable MSRUAS Logo Clickable ASI Logo Clickable IISc Logo Clickable IITM Logo

Conference Schedule

Call for papers

Welcome to NC-MDAO 2019!

The conference jointly organized by M.S. Ramaiah University of Applied Sciences (MSRUAS), Design division of the Aeronautical Society of India (AeSI), Mechanical Engineering department of the Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bengaluru and Engineering Design department of the Indian Institute of Technology Madras (IITM), aims to bring together researchers and industry professionals working in the areas of multidisciplinary design, analysis, and optimization. Established techniques and emerging technologies are equally emphasized to take advantage of the past accomplishments and step up the future of, optimization-based design and model-based systems. The focus is on design and analysis as applicable to optimization of systems. Optimization in aerospace, automotive, manufacturing, biomedical and other application domains are within the scope of this conference.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Size, shape and topology optimization
  • Design of Experiments
  • Design Sensitivity Analysis
  • Meta-modeling or surrogate modeling
  • Systems design and optimization
  • Model-based systems design and optimization
  • Machine learning in optimization
  • Inverse problems
  • Uncertainty Quantification, reliability and robustness in design
  • Evolutionary Methods and Algorithms
  • Composite Material Optimization
  • Optimization application in emerging areas
  • System identification
  • MDAO applications in but not limited to:
    • Aerospace industry
    • Automotive industry (including autonomous vehicles)
    • Manufacturing industry
    • Biomedical industry

Publication Partner

Springer Logo

Supported by



Metacomp Logo
Zeus Numerix Logo
MSC Software Logo
Optisign Logo


Keynote Speakers

Pic of Dr. Bala Bharadvaj

Dr. Bala Bharadvaj

MD, Boeing India Engineering & Technology Center, and President, SAE INDIA

Pic of Dr. Adimurthy V

Dr. Adimurthy V

Honorary Distinguished Professor
Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC)
Dept. of Space

Invited Speakers

Pic of Dr. Dhish Saxena

Prof. Dhish Saxena

IIT Roorkee
'Knowledge discovery on problem structure through Multi-objective optimization'

Pic of Garrett Vanderplaats

Garrett Vanderplaats

Founder & CEO
Vanderplaats R & D, Inc.
'Perspectives on Optimization'
(Remote talk)

Pic of Dr. Gopal R. Shevare

Gopal R. Shevare

Zeus Numerix Pvt. Ltd
Adjunct Professor, IIT-B
'Application of MDAO tools in Aerospace and Defence'

Master Class

Master classes are free for conference registrants; however they are required to register separately. For others interested in attending ONLY the master classes on March 21, 2019, the registration fee (INR) details are as listed below. Please follow the steps in registration section, for payment and registration.

  • Industry Participants - 2000
  • Faculty/Start-up/Govt lab employees - 1000
  • Students/Post-docs - 100

1. Mechanics, Machine Learning and Multidisciplinary Optimization
- Challenges, Opportunities & Applications

Pic of Dr. Somanath Nagendra

Dr. Somanath Nagendra

Pratt & Whitney, USA

2. Meta modeling and applications in Optimization

Pic of Dr. Palaniappan Ramu

Prof. Palaniappan Ramu

IIT Madras

Pic of Mohan Sangli

Mohan Sangli


3. Probabilistic Optimization

Pic of Vinay Ramanath

Vinay Ramanath


4. Design Optimization of Composite Structures

Pic of Sushil Mane

Sushil Mane


Panel Discussion


Panel Members

Pic of Dr. G K Ananthasuresh

Prof. G K Ananthasuresh

IISc Bangalore

Pic of Dr. Santosh Koruthu

Dr. Santosh Koruthu


Pic of Prof. Rajib Chowdhury

Prof. Rajib Chowdhury

IIT Roorkee

Pic of Dr. Shankar Venugopal

Dr. Shankar Venugopal

Mahindra and Mahindra

Paper Submission

250 word abstract submission
(by December 31, 2018)

Click here to download the template for the abstract: Word   LaTeX

Optional 1500 word/four-page paper submission
(by February 20, 2019)

Click here to download the template for the paper: Word   LaTeX

Please send the abstract and paper in PDF format through

Important Dates

One-page abstracts December 31, 2018
Invitation for full paper January 15, 2019
Early bird registration
deadline - Extended
January 30, 2019
February 10, 2019
Final submission of full paper
February 20, 2019
March 4, 2019
Last date for registration March 10, 2019
Master Class
(Pre-Conference Workshop)
March 21, 2019
Conference dates March 22-23, 2019


The attendees of the conference must register by March 10, 2019.

Registration Fee* (INR)

Industry Participants 10,000
Faculty/Start-up/Govt. Lab employees 5,000
Students and post-docs 500
*Early bird registrations, SAE, AeSI and CII members can avail 20% discount on the fee.
SAE, AeSI and CII members should provide their membership number during registration.

The registration process consists of two steps:

Step 1: Pay registration fee

The registration fee can be transferred online to the following account (Please make a note of the transaction details because it is required to fill the registration form).

Account Type Savings Account
Account Number 914010033410657
IFSC UTIB0000559
MICR 560211017
Bank Axis Bank Ltd
Branch Rajaji Nagar, Bangalore 560 010
TAN No. BLRM21627E

Step 2: Fill registration form for Conference.

Fill registration form for Master Class.
(Both require registration fee transaction details)

Travel Planning

About Bengaluru

Bengaluru, known as the science city of India because it has numerous educational and research institutions and as garden city because of its cool climate and greenery, is a major metropolitan city. It is also an IT hub with thriving startā€up companies and major industries, public and private.

Bengaluru1Bengaluru2 Bengaluru3Bengaluru4


The conference would be held at MSRUAS, Peenya campus.

Nearby Hotels

1. Hotel Thanga Orchid (3.5km from campus)
No 1754 2nd Floor, NH4 - Tumkur Main Road, Chokkasandra, Opp To T Dasarahalli Metro Station, Vidya Nagar, Bengaluru
Website: Hotel Thanga Orchid
Phone: +91 8123693999, +91 7619417554
E-mail: bookings@hotelthangaorchid.com
2. Nest Inn Hotel (1 km from campus)
#325, Survey No 46, 4th Phase Indl. Area, Near NTTF Circle, Ganapathy Nagar, Phase 3, Peenya, Bengaluru
Website: Nest Inn Hotel
Phone: 080-48663899
3. Taj Yeshwantpur (4.6km from campus)
2275, Tumkur Road, Yeshwantpur, Bengaluru
Phone: +91 80-6690 0111
E-mail: yeshwantpur.bengaluru@tajhotels.com
Website: Taj Hotels
4. Hotel Blue Bell (2.6km from campus)
39, 40 Chokkasandra lake road/ KIADB Road, Bengaluru
Phone: 095134 77977
Website: Hotel Blue Bell


General Conference Committee

Dr. Kota Harinarayana, AeSI (Chair)

Prof. H. K. Narahari, RUAS

Prof. G. K. Ananthasuresh, IISc

Prof. Palaniappan Ramu, IITM

Organizing Committee

Prof. H. K. Narahari, RUAS (Chair)

Prof. Indira Narayanaswamy, RUAS

Rakesh Kumar, ADE

Prof. R. Raja, RUAS

Advisory Committee

Prof. K. Sudhakar, IIT Bombay (Chair)

Dr. A. R. Upadhya, NAL

Dr. Govind Kadambi, VC, RUAS

Prof. Ashok Belegundu, Penn State University

Technical Committee

  • Dr. Raviprakash R Salagame, APTIV (Chair)
  • Prof. Dhish Saxena, IIT Roorkee
  • Prof. Anupam Saxena, IIT Kanpur
  • Prof. H. K. Narahari, RUAS
  • Vinay Ramanath, Siemens, Bengaluru
  • Prajwal Shivaprakasha, DLR, Germany
  • Murali Balasubramanian, FCA, Chennai
  • Dr. Shankar Venugopal, M&M
  • Dr. Santosh Koruthu, ADA
  • Dr. Pankaj Priyadarshi, VSSC-ISRO
  • Dr. Somanath Nagendra, P&W, UTC, USA
  • Dr. Srikari S, RUAS

  • ***

    For additional information and queries, email us at ncmdao@gmail.com